Short, Sharp Shakespeare Stories: The Tempest

Author: Anna Claybourne Tom Morgan-Jones
Publisher: Hachette Children's Books
Category: Shakespeare Plays, Children's Fiction, Plays, English Literature
Age Group: 12-17
Book Format: Paperback

Be not afeard, the isle is full of noises... A powerful storm, a dramatic shipwreck, an enchanted island, a sorcerer's daughter and a handsome prince... Discover the magical story at the heart of The Tempest, one of Shakespeare's best-loved plays.

The age-appropriate text in Short, Sharp Shakespeare Stories: The Tempest introduces readers to the play by re-telling the story in modern English. It's an ideal introduction to Shakespeare for children of 9 and above, and perfect for fans of the Tony Ross and Andrew Matthews series Shakespeare Stories.

The book also contains information about the background to The Tempest, its major themes, language, the Globe theatre, and Shakespeare's life during the time he was writing the play, so is a useful resource for project work, or for anyone studying the play itself. Magic, and its meaning in 16th century England, are also examined.

Anna Claybourne's concise, witty text really brings out the humour and the drama of the stories, rendering them as relevant today as they were in Shakespeare's time. Comparisons with themes in modern life: love, revenge, family relationships, political power struggles, etc., serve to reinforce this.

The text is supported by Tom Morgan-Jones' fantastic artwork, giving the series real visual appeal.

Short, Sharp Shakespeare Stories allow children today to be as enthralled by Shakespeare's tales as audiences were 400 years ago. Publishing to coincide with the 450th anniversary of Shakespeare's birth, they are the ideal resource for project work connected to this, or to Shakespeare Week 2015. Other titles in the series include Macbeth, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Romeo and Juliet, Much Ado About Nothing and Hamlet.

Table Of Contents
1: Introducing The Tempest

2: The Tempest

3: The Tempest at a glance

4: The story of The Tempest

5: Shakespeare and The Tempest

6: Staging The Tempest

7: The Tempest: Themes and symbols

8: The meaning of magic

9: The language of The Tempest

10: What The Tempest means now

11: What Shakespeare did next

12: Glossary

13: The Tempest quiz
About Anna Claybourne
Anna Claybourne has written over 150 children's books on all kinds of subjects, from sharks, black holes and splitting the atom to how to draw, Shakespeare's life, and Greek myths and legends. She likes space, sewing and music, plays the trombone and loves going camping.


SKU BK-9780750291156
Barcode # 9780750291156
Brand Hachette Children's Books
Artist / Author Anna Claybourne Tom Morgan-Jones
Shipping Weight 0.2400kg
Shipping Width 0.135m
Shipping Height 0.010m
Shipping Length 0.204m

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Augoods users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category