Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea

Author: Perkins, Lynne Rae,Perkins, Lynne Rae
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Category: Children's Fiction, Family
Age Group: 5-9
Book Format: Hardcover

Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sisters-Alix and Jools-and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach.

This joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean is illustrated in black-and-white throughout. The Wall Street Journal said, Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins's affectionate chapter book. . . . Illustrations by the author add wit and tenderness to this sunny summer story. For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead.

Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home-but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix's surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn't want to leave!

Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery-from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration.

A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated. Features black and white art throughout.

About Lynne Rae Perkins
Lynne Rae Perkins was awarded the Newbery Medal for Criss Cross. She is the author of one other book for teens-All Alone in the Universe, a companion to Criss Cross. Lynne Rae Perkins has also written and illustrated several picture books, including Snow Music, a Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book and a Book Sense Top Ten Pick. "Perkins is a genius at capturing the odd details that reveal so much about individuals and families, and how they interact," said Riverbank Review about her picture book The Broken Cat. The author lives with her family in northern Michigan.

(BK-9780062499660)

SKU BK-9780062499660
Barcode # 9780062499660
Brand HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Artist / Author Perkins, Lynne Rae, Perkins, Lynne Rae
Shipping Weight 0.6400kg
Shipping Width 16.000m
Shipping Height 2.300m
Shipping Length 20.300m

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Augoods users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category