My Family for the War

Author: Anne C. Voorhoeve
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Category: Historical
Age Group: 12-17
Book Format: Paperback

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award

Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth Literature

Nominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis

An ALSC Notable Children's Book

Kids' Indie Next List



Gripping WWII fiction for fans of Code Name Verity and Between Shades of Gray



At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the kindertransport in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England. Taken in by strangers, Frances (as she is now called) courageously pieces together a new life for herself. But what will happen to her when she is finally reunited with her family, now that she's a stranger herself after seven years of war?



Originally published in Germany, Anne Voorhoeve's award-winning novel is filled with humor, danger, and romance.



* With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum.

—Booklist, starred review



* Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl's emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction.

Anne C. Voorhoeve is an award-winning German novelist and screenwriter. She lives in Berlin, Germany.



Tammi Reichel is an instructor of German at the University of Richmond and lives with her family in Virginia.

About Anne C. Voorhoeve
Anne C. Voorhoeve is an award-winning German novelist and screenwriter. She lives in Berlin, Germany. Tammi Reichel is an instructor of German at the University of Richmond and lives with her family in Virginia.

(BK-9780147511836)

SKU BK-9780147511836
Barcode # 9780147511836
Brand Penguin Putnam Inc
Artist / Author Anne C. Voorhoeve
Shipping Weight 0.2900kg
Shipping Width 2.800m
Shipping Height 20.800m
Shipping Length 14.000m

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Augoods users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category