Give Us This Day

Author: Jonathan Tulloch
Publisher: Vintage
Category: Contemporary Fiction
Book Format: Paperback

Tom Carey is a priest in crisis. God's good world has curdled and the Church is beset by scandal. Increasingly, he is haunted by the face of a woman he once secretly loved.Abandoning his comfortable parish he buries himself in the post of Port Chaplain on a busy river, but soon finds himself caught up in the murky world of international people-smuggling. The alluring but sinister Captain Cargo and his beleaguered Filipino crew seem intent on forcing him into a radical expression of his priesthood, but a chance encounter with the woman he has not seen for thirty years throws his vocation and faith into question.Part love story, part thriller, GIVE US THIS DAY is a compelling tale of love and faith and the risks of intimacy. A novel in the tradition of Graham Greene, GIVE US THIS DAY is above all a poignant study of what it is to be human.

About Jonathan Tulloch
Jonathan Tulloch was born and bred in Cumbria. He was educated by Augustinian friars. He has written three previous novels, The Season Ticket, winner of the Betty Trask Prize and filmed as Purely Belter, The Bonny Lad and The Lottery. He featured on the TLS list of the twenty most promising young writers, and recently won the J.B. Priestly Award. His work has been translated into five languages. He is a regular contributor to The Tablet, the leading international Roman Catholic weekly.

(BK-9780099422150)

SKU BK-9780099422150
Barcode # 9780099422150
Brand Vintage
Artist / Author Jonathan Tulloch
Shipping Weight 0.2000kg
Shipping Width 12.900m
Shipping Height 1.800m
Shipping Length 19.800m

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Augoods users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category