Classifying Animals: Fish

Author: Sarah Wilkes
Publisher: Wayland (Publishers) Ltd
Category: Wildlife, Biology
Age Group: 5-9
Book Format: Paperback

The Classifying Animals series welcomes you to the world of classification, in which about 2 million different organisms have been identified and sorted into groups. This appealing and attractive book looks at the classes of fish, and the orders, families and species within them. Find out about the characteristics that distinguish the fish in different groups and compare the differences in their life cycles. Discover the various ways in which fish have adapted to life in different climates and habitats, from the shallowest streams to the deepest ocean depths.

Table Of Contents
1: What are Fish?

2: Jawless Fish (Myxini and Cephalaspidomorphi)

3: Cartilaginous Fish (Chondrichthyes)

4: Sharks, Rays and Skates (Elasmobranchii)

5: Bony Fish (Osteichthyes)

6: Primitive Ray-finned Fish (Chondrostei)

7: Eels (Elopomorpha)

8: Herring (Clupeomorpha)

9: Catfish (Ostariophysi)

10: Salmon (Protacanthopterygii)

11: Jellynose Fish and Dragonfish (Sternopterygii)

12: Cod and Anglerfish (Paracanthopterygii)

13: Spiny-rayed Fish (Acanthopterygii)
About Sarah Wilkes
Sarah Wilkes is a consultant ecologist who has worked with conservation organisations for many years. She has written a number of books on natural history and environmental topics and has travelled the world in search of wildlife. She is particularly concerned with the conservation of some of the world's most threatened animal species.


SKU BK-9780750284837
Barcode # 9780750284837
Brand Wayland (Publishers) Ltd
Artist / Author Sarah Wilkes
Shipping Weight 0.2200kg
Shipping Width 0.219m
Shipping Height 0.005m
Shipping Length 0.270m

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Augoods users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category